Manage Tasks

Topics

General

You access your personal task overview by clicking on the entry My Tasks in the Project Overview.

On the right side, the task overview opens:

Here you receive a task overview divided into Tasks Requested by Me, My Tasks (to be confirmed) and My Tasks: from Workflow. Tasks whose due date has passed are displayed in red.


Create Task

To create a new task, click on the - symbol in the action bar of the task overview. A form opens, into which you can enter the data for the new task.

Task catalogs provide defined tasks as templates for availability. If a task catalog has been configured, you can select such a template via the action and transfer it into the form.

Enter all details for the new task. If you check the checkbox Task should be confirmed and click it, the recipient of the task will see a marker, via which you can confirm, decline, or accept the task with reservations. See chapter Confirming Task confirmation.

Select the option Send E-mail to Participants, if you want to inform the participants via e-mail or message after creating the task.
When sending a task, a calendar file is automatically sent along. The recipient can take over this calendar file with a click in their e-mail or calendar program. The task is then automatically created in the respective calendar.

On the tab Attachment documents can be added to the task. These documents must already be in the clipboard. To do this, select the action Insert.

In the subsequent dialog, mark the documents you want to add to the task and confirm your selection.

If you have selected Subsequently insert documents via the clipboard, another action is available to you in the clipboard, via which you can subsequently link documents copied from the documentation into the clipboard with the task just created. For more information, see section Tasks with Documents


Detailed Description for Tasks

A detailed description can be added to a task. In this, text formatting as well as embedding screenshots is possible. Screenshots and images already stored in the repository can, as under Tasks with Documents described be directly linked to a task.

When creating a task, it is done via the action at the field Description added.

Added detailed descriptions will be called up directly on the task property page later via this action. Further descriptions can be added; thereby creating a list of entries, each provided with their respective creator and timestamp. Deleting entries is only possible for the creator or person responsible for the task and project members with the Organizer Manager role.




Recurring Tasks

A recurring task is a task that occurs cyclically. Once created, it is automatically re-issued in a specific rhythm (daily, weekly, yearly).

In the field Repeat you set the interval for the task.


Group Tasks

Group tasks are tasks assigned exclusively to members of a group. All members of a group are automatically participants of the task. A group task can also be assigned to a group even if it currently has no members.

To create a group task, click on the - symbol in the action bar.

The members of the group are already listed in the Persons field in the opening appointment form.

To create the task, click on Create.

Note: Members involved in a group task cannot be removed from it.

Tasks for Subjects, Folders, and Document Folders

If you want to create tasks for document folders, folders, or subjects, press in the corresponding action bar on .

For Subjects:

For Folders:

For Document Folders:

The new task is displayed in the table on the property page Tasks .


Task Reminders

When creating a task, an optional time point for a reminder can be selected, which is sent to all involved persons via email.

Every participant as well as the task creator can subsequently individually adjust the reminder period via the task properties page.

Select the reminder period during creation or on the properties page in the field Remind:

Even for recurring tasks, reminder emails can be sent before each due date.


Complete Tasks

Tasks can, if not yet done, be marked as started via the Action in the Actions bar of the associated Properties page.

To complete a task, press the Action in the Actions bar of the associated Properties page.

The completion date for the task is pre-filled with the current date but can be corrected if necessary. After pressing Execute the task is marked as completed.

Completed or finished tasks can be reset, i.e., reactivated, by their creator or a member with the Organizer Manager role if required.


Delete Tasks

To delete a task, select the button or mark the task in the tree of the Organizer and select the item Delete.

Tasks can only be deleted by the creator, project leaders, project managers, or organizer managers!

It is not possible for responsible persons to delete tasks!


Due Date and Effort

Based on the due date specified for a task, the difference to the current date is calculated and shown in the field +/- Days.

As soon as a task is completed, the difference between the due date and the completion date is calculated. For additional information, the duration specified when completing the task is displayed along with the planned duration specified when creating the task.


Tasks with Documents

Tasks can be linked with documents via the clipboard.

To do this, first copy the documents to the clipboard. Select via the icon in the Actions bar a new Task . The documents are automatically linked to the task.

To subsequently link documents to tasks, select the option when creating a task Then insert additional documents via clipboard . Hereby the task is marked for adding documents. You can now copy any further documents to the clipboard and from there add them via the button of the task .

Open the clipboard via the icon in the menu bar, select the documents to be added and select the action Complete the task just created.

Press on Insert objects to complete the action.

If the linked documents are of a file type for which a preview or, with multiple linked documents, a gallery is generated these are also created directly with the task.


Confirm Task

The participants of a task can be requested to confirm it. If a participant is notified about the task via e-mail (see Create Task), this e-mail contains an indication for confirmation. Tasks to be confirmed are also listed in the Organizer tree under the item Tasks to be confirmed .

In their own task overview, the recipient of the tasks then finds the following functions:

This means:

Reject Task
Accept Task with Reservation
Accept Task

Add and remove persons

To add or remove persons from existing tasks, select the icon on the Properties page of the desired task.

Subsequently, all persons linked to the task are listed.

The following actions are available to you:

The person is removed from the task.
Select additional involved persons. A selection dialog will be opened.
All persons involved in the project will be added to the task (only visible if a Distribution List for the group All Involved exists.)
Add a group to the task. A selection dialog will be opened.
Add a distribution list to the task. A selection dialog will be opened.
All persons added to the task are deleted.

Finally, confirm your changes with the button Change.


Task numbers

Tasks receive their own numbers like appointments. These can be displayed with appropriate configuration or, if known, used as a search criterion.

In the task search mask, the additional field Number will be displayed, in which you can enter the task number known to you.

If tasks are displayed in lists, as here in the result of a search, an additional column Number with the task numbers is added.